Poker Face

Posted On December 3, 2009

Filed under Miles W.

Comments Dropped leave a response

No I don’t like using song titles as titles. I just use common phrases that get turned into song titles. If I have once again mislead you into thinking that Lady Gaga was gonna be in this entry, sorry. If you’re into that kind of stuff go here.  But I’m into blogs and if you are too, you should keep reading. 🙂

Now I will continue onto the true Poker Face.

Lady Gaga in Alice? No, I already answered that. Poker in Alice? Ehh, kinda.

As I was reading chapters 8, and 11-12, I was truly introduced to the power and the might that a bluff has on someone. “Now who am I speaking of?”, you may ask. The King and Queen of Hearts. These two characters combined strike fear into the hearts of the many. Maybe that’s why they’re of Hearts, because they control the inhabitants of Wonderland’s. But that isn’t what this entry is about. These two ‘leaders’ control Wonderland but with what. They do nothing but act like they will execute you if you do anything against them. But have they ever done anything? No. I believe that the king and queen would also make great poker players. If they can control all the beings of Wonderland, what are a few cards to them.  This could also be why they’re cards and not humans, or lions, or any other creature that we could see in power.

When I think cards, I think of games like poker and also magic tricks. What’s involved in both? Trickery and deception. What tools do the King and Queen use to control Wonderland? Trickery and Deception. Maybe this is what Carroll thought of when he thought about cards. He created this government of bluffing to control Wonderland. And, what has a better poker face, than a playing card.

Leave a comment