It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Posted On December 3, 2009

Filed under Miles W.

Comments Dropped leave a response

Yet another song title. People have good titles and the way Carroll wrote this book they can apply to Alice in any form.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year
With the kids jingle belling
And everyone telling you “Be of good cheer”
It’s the most wonderful time of the year

Sure it’s the most wonderful time of the year here on Earth, but what about in Wonderland? Is it always this crazy or has Alice cause this commotion. I’m not sure, but here’s what I think.

Alice had a major impact on the events in Wonderland. Of course Alice’s Adventure’s in Wonderland would be absolutely nothing without its main character. Haha it would only be Adventures in Wonderland. Wait a minute. That doesn’t sound like a bad idea, huh? Well even if it does, I’m going with it.

Wonderland doesn’t really need Alice does it? I mean, there’s still that creepy cat, Crazy Queen, and Melancholy Mock, right? I guess we can still have a caucus-race without her. It still makes for a great story, right? I mean sure she’s the center of an important trial but we don’t really need her right?

No Alice in Wonderland. Uh oh. Just when I thought it was a good idea, I was wrong. What is Wonderland without something special or wonderful. Nothing. Without anything unique, everything becomes mundane. As long as a world stays the same, you get used to everything and it all becomes a bore. Wonderland without Alice, is like Alphabet Soup without the Alphabet, eh. She makes Wonderland, Wonderland. Her name really should be “Alice’s Adventure’s in Wonder”, because without her all the story would be about is land. And I don’t know about you but I don’t find atlases the very bit interesting. 

After this post I hope you believe that you would rather drop a book with no Alice, and go with the following:

It’s the most wonderful time of the year
With the Turtle retelling
And everyone telling you “Alice is here”
It’s the most wonderful time of the year

Leave a comment