Picturing Wonderland: Visual Aid

Posted On December 2, 2009

Filed under Jenna K.

Comments Dropped 6 responses

After writing my blog Picturing Wonderland, I thought it would be a good idea to create a presentation showcasing the different images readers have created for this story. The pictures I gathered are from the 1951 animated Alice in Wonderland, the Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland coming out in 2010, and the original illustrations by John Tenniel. By looking at these you can see the fun, cartoon way Wonderland is depicted in the 1951 version, the scary and dark Wonderland from Tim Burton’s mind, and the realistic human version drawn by John Tenniel.

The Prezi presentation I made can be found here.

***

Note:

If you are unfamiliar with Prezi, it’s quite simple.

  • Once you enter my Prezi presentation, just click the ‘forward’ arrow (on the bottom right of the screen) to move to the next “slide” and the back arrow to move to the previous “slide”.
  • Once on a “slide” click the screen and drag around to see the various pictures surrounding the main one.
  • Click the circular button and the entire presentation will be shown as a sort of “map” click on a specific picture and it will zoom in on it.

6 Responses to “Picturing Wonderland: Visual Aid”

  1. Jenna K.

    I think the Mad Hatter probably is the most diversely interpreted because he is the only character in Wonderland designated as “mad. I know that if I were creating my own image of Wonderland for everybody to view I would definitely focus on the Mad Hatter and make him symbolize everything Wonderland means to me.

  2. David Bill

    While your prezi is very good in illustrating the different interpretations of the characters, if the prezi was to stand alone it would need some sort of context or introduction. That being said, a modern interpretation of a classic novel is always intriguing and I always enjoy how a novel like “Alice in Wonderland” can become a vehicle to examine cultural norms and shifts. Kudos for providing us that visual guide.

  3. Ben Wilkoff

    I also enjoyed this presentation a lot. I would love to know more about which version of “wonderland” you think is closer the Carroll’s vision (or your own, for that matter).

    I too was intrigued by the differences between the mad hatters. Why is this (rather minor) character so interesting to need such drastically different interpretations? What do you think?

  4. Devon H.

    I really liked it, even though it didn’t have writing. I don’t think it needed it. I loved the juxtoposition of the pictures so that you can see the well-known Disney version next to the creepy Tim Burton version next to the original version. Especially with the Mad Hatter it is cool to see the different representation. The original drawings show him as if a regular person. The Disney version portrayed him as kind of stupid and almost a little off-kilter. Then, the Tim Burton version has Johnny Depp, who always has to play a creepy role, portraying the Hatter as truly Mad.

  5. Jenna K.

    I probably should have added some text to the actual presentation. But, I thought it was unneeded considering I wrote a whole blog about this subject and provided a link to it above. Thank you for your critique though, I appreciate it.

  6. Vance L.

    I enjoyed your presentation.

    It had great organization. It also showed Alice’s journey with groupings of different pictures for the same event.

    Overall it worked well and quick, but I felt sort of let down with the lack of writing. A suggestion for next time or to add to this one, just a little bit of writing saying what the event is or a little bit of analysis.

Leave a comment